Supreme Court Civil, Circuit and Criminal Sittings 2017

Perth Civil Sittings

Civil sittings of the Supreme Court at Perth for the trial of causes and issues of fact during the year 2017 shall commence on Tuesday, 10 January 2017 and shall continue, except for the Easter and Winter Vacations and for Public Service holidays, until Friday, 22 December 2017.

Perth Criminal Sittings

Criminal sittings of the Supreme Court to be held at Perth during the year 2017 shall commence on the following days:

Tuesday 10 January
Wednesday 1 February
Wednesday 1 March
Monday 3 April
Monday 1 May
Thursday 1 June
Monday 17 July
Tuesday 1 August
Friday 1 September
Monday 2 October
Wednesday 1 November
Friday 1 December

Circuit Sittings

Sittings of the Supreme Court at circuit towns for 2017 will be held in accordance with the following:


16 January
1 May
31 July
9 October


20 February
29 May
7 August
6 November


20 February
29 May
7 August
6 November


16 January
1 May
31 July
9 October


27 February
3 April
6 June
24 July
23 October


27 February
19 June
18 September
4 December

Carnarvon, Karratha, South Hedland, Broome, Derby and Kununurra

13 March
15 May
14 August
4 September
13 November

Masters' Chambers

Unless otherwise directed, a Master sits in chambers each Tuesday and Thursday.

Special appointments will be given, when necessary, for urgent matters or matters that are expected to take more than 20 minutes and are arranged by following the procedures set out in the Consolidated Practice Directions (2009) at 4.3.1.

Supreme Court Vacations

The vacations to be observed in the Supreme Court will be the summer vacation, the Easter vacation, and the winter vacation. The summer vacation commences on 25 December and terminates on the second Monday in January next following; the Easter vacation commences on Good Friday and terminates on Easter Monday, and the winter vacation commences on a day in June, July or August fixed by Rule of Court, from year to year, and terminates on a day 14 days after the day so fixed.

The vacation periods for 2017 are:

Summer: 25 December 2016 - 9 January 2017
Winter: 3 July 2017 - 14 July 2017
Summer: 25 December 2017 - 8 January 2018

In the computation of the time prescribed by the Rules of the Supreme Court or by an order or direction for filing serving or amending any pleading or for filing and serving any notice of appeal the period or any part of the period which is between 25 December and 8 January next following shall not be reckoned unless the court orders.

Supreme Court Holidays

Rule 5 of Order 68 of the Rules of the Supreme Court provides that the several offices of the Supreme Court shall be open every day of the year except Saturdays, Sundays, Good Friday, Easter Monday, Christmas Day, and all public service holidays.

Last updated: 25-Jan-2017

[ back to top ]