Legal Practice Board of WA

(Constituted under the Legal Profession Act 2008)

The Legal Practice Board has statutory responsibility for the regulation of the legal profession in Western Australia. The Board issues annual practising certificates to local lawyers and advises the Supreme Court in relation to eligibility and suitability for admission. Through the Legal Profession Complaints Committee the Board is also responsible for professional disciplinary action.


As provided by Section 536 of the Legal Profession Act 2008, the Board consists of:

  1. the Attorney General and
  2. the Solicitor General, or, if there is no Solicitor General, the State Solicitor and
  3. each Queen's Counsel, and each Senior Counsel, whose principal place of practice is in this State and who is not a full-time judicial officer; and who has, in writing, nominated himself or herself as a member and
  4. 12 legal practitioners of at least three years standing and practice in this State who are elected members.

At April 2016 elected members of the Board were:

Mr JGM Fiocco
Mr SS French
Ms RT Heath
Dr JJ Hockley
Ms VJ Hodgins
Mr JRB Ley
Ms AM Liscia
Ms EE Macknay
Ms SM Schlink
Mr JG Syminton
Mr RG Wilson
Mr MPC Yeo


Mr JG Syminton

Deputy Chairperson

Mr MH Zilko SC

Executive Director

Mr GL Geldart

Location of the office of the Legal Practice Board

5th Floor, Kings Building
533 Hay Street
Telephone: (08) 6211 3600
Facsimile: (08) 9325 2743

Postal Address

PO Box 5720
St Georges Terrace

Last updated: 30-Jan-2017

[ back to top ]